In short
The Oklahoma Housing Finance Agency (OHFA) offers down payment and closing cost help of up to 3.5% of the loan amount to buyers with a middle credit score of 640 or higher, according to its program requirements. The City of Oklahoma City offers a forgivable loan of up to $18,000, plus $5,000 for an interest rate buydown, to households at or below 80% of area median income, according to the City’s homebuyer page.
What help exists in Oklahoma
Two layers of help matter to most buyers in Oklahoma City:
- The state agency, OHFA, which offers mortgage programs (GOLD and DREAM) with down payment assistance.
- The City of Oklahoma City, which funds down payment assistance with federal HOME money from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).
Both have income and price rules. Programs and limits change, so confirm the current terms with OHFA or the City before you sign a contract.
OHFA: GOLD and DREAM loans
OHFA’s product page describes two main mortgage programs. Both come in government (FHA, VA, USDA) and conventional versions, and OHFA says its loan products include “3.5% of the total loan amount to be used for down payment and closing costs.”
| GOLD | DREAM | |
|---|---|---|
| First-time buyer rule | Must be a first-time buyer, unless the home is in a targeted area | Not stated; may own another property but must live in the home bought with the OHFA loan |
| Maximum price (non-targeted / targeted) | $349,525 / $427,198 | Government: $356,362 statewide. Freddie Mac conventional: $453,100 statewide |
| Maximum income | Set by county and household size | Government: $150,000 statewide. Conventional: by county |
| Special rate | Teachers, law enforcement, firefighters, EMTs and state employees may qualify | Not stated |
Source: OHFA, “Down Payment Assistance” product page and the 2025 income-limit exhibits.
Targeted areas are defined by Census tract numbers, so ask an approved lender to check the tract of the home you want. OHFA’s exhibit lists the GOLD government purchase price limits with a June 1, 2022 date and the income limits with a September 1, 2025 release date, so ask your lender for the limits that apply on your contract date.
Income limits in Oklahoma County
For GOLD government loans, OHFA’s 2025 exhibit lists these household income limits for Oklahoma County:
| Area type | 1 to 2 people | 3 or more people |
|---|---|---|
| Non-targeted | $97,700 | $112,355 |
| Targeted | $117,240 | $136,780 |
Source: OHFA, Exhibit H-1A, released 09/01/2025. The exhibit lists a county median income of $99,000 for Oklahoma County. For DREAM government loans, the exhibit shows $150,000 for Oklahoma County for households of any size.
The down payment assistance
OHFA’s FAQ calls the assistance a lien, a “Silent 2nd” with “no interest or fees associated with the amount.” It is not a grant: “All OHFA financing received for down payment and closing cost assistance must be repaid.” Repayment comes due when the first mortgage is paid off or matures, when you refinance, or when you stop using the home as your primary residence or change ownership.
To qualify for the assistance, OHFA lists these requirements:
- Use an OHFA-approved lender.
- Meet household income limits, which vary by family size and home location.
- Have a middle credit score of 640 or higher.
- Buy a home in Oklahoma and occupy it within 60 days of closing.
OHFA’s interest-rate page, effective October 13, 2026, lists a 3.50% assistance level on most products, and 0.00% on the “ZERO” versions of DREAM. It showed a GOLD government rate of 7.000%, a DREAM government rate of 8.250% and a DREAM government ZERO rate of 7.625%. OHFA says rates can change at any time and the reservation portal rate takes precedence.
A worked example. On a $250,000 loan, 3.5% is $8,750. That amount is a second lien that you repay under the conditions above.
OHFA’s pages also carry a notice that it has temporarily paused applications for some Oklahoma Housing Stability Program funding. That program offers additional down payment help in select developments; the notice does not say whether it affects the 3.5% assistance, so ask an approved lender.
City of Oklahoma City down payment assistance
The City’s homebuyer page says it uses HUD’s HOME program to give down payment and closing cost help to income-eligible families and individuals. The amount depends on need, up to $18,000, plus $5,000 reserved to buy down the interest rate if needed.
| Household size | Income limit (80% of area median) |
|---|---|
| 1 person | $54,750 |
| 2 people | $62,550 |
| 3 people | $70,350 |
| 4 people | $78,150 |
| 5 people | $84,450 |
| 6 people | $90,700 |
| 7 people | $96,950 |
| 8 people | $103,200 |
Source: City of Oklahoma City, Homebuyer Assistance page.
What the City’s 2025 guidelines add:
- No first-time buyer requirement, but the home must be inside the program boundaries shown on the City’s map.
- Forgivable loan. The affordability period is ten years and 60 days, prorated 1/120th per month, secured by a deferred note and mortgage filed with the Oklahoma County Clerk. The guidelines also say no assistance is returned to the buyer at closing or at any other time.
- Homebuyer education. Every recipient must complete a class taught by a HUD-certified counselor and show a certificate before receiving assistance. The City’s page says the class is free.
- Loan rules. The first mortgage must have a fixed rate and a term of 30 years or less, with taxes and insurance escrowed. Front-end ratio must be under 34% and back-end ratio no more than 43% without compensating factors.
- Flood zones. Assistance is prohibited for homes in FEMA-designated 100-year flood zones and floodways. See our guide to flood insurance.
- Price cap. The purchase price may not exceed 95% of the median sales price for Oklahoma City, as HUD publishes it each year.
To apply, the City’s page lists two nonprofit partners that take applications; the City’s Action Center (405-297-2535) can point you to them.
Which one fits
The City’s loan is forgiven over its affordability period, while OHFA’s assistance must be repaid. If your income is above the City limits, or the home is outside the boundary area, look at OHFA. The pages we read do not say whether the two can be combined, so ask your lender.
For the costs these programs help cover, see our guides to closing costs in Oklahoma and FHA loans. Compare your budget with home prices in Oklahoma, and read about buying in Oklahoma City. The overall process is in the steps of buying a home.
Frequently asked questions
How much down payment help does OHFA give?
OHFA says it offers up to 3.5% of the total loan amount for the down payment and closing costs. It is a “Silent 2nd” lien with no interest or fees, and it must be repaid.
What credit score do I need for Oklahoma down payment assistance?
OHFA’s program requirements ask for a middle credit score of 640 or greater.
Does Oklahoma City offer down payment assistance?
Yes. The City uses HOME funds to give up to $18,000, plus $5,000 for an interest rate buydown, to households at or below 80% of area median income, for homes within the program boundaries.
Do I have to be a first-time buyer?
For OHFA’s GOLD program, yes, unless the home is in a targeted area. OHFA’s DREAM program lets buyers own other property if they use the home as their primary residence. The City’s program has no first-time buyer requirement.
Do I have to repay the assistance?
OHFA’s assistance must be repaid when you pay off or refinance the first mortgage or stop living in the home. The City’s loan is forgiven after the ten-year affordability period; if you sell or move earlier, the guidelines’ proration applies, so ask the City how much would be due.
Compare with the other states: First-time home buyer programs by state.
More Oklahoma guides
- Closing costs in Oklahoma: what buyers and sellers pay
- Oklahoma transfer tax: $0.75 per $500, who pays and exemptions
- Oklahoma property tax: rates, homestead exemption and appeals
- Seller disclosure in Oklahoma: the required form and rules
- Do you need a real estate attorney to close in Oklahoma?
- Foreclosure process in Oklahoma: steps, notices and deadlines
- Home prices in Oklahoma and Oklahoma City: median value
- How to verify a real estate license in Oklahoma
Sources
- Homebuyers (Oklahoma Housing Finance Agency) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Down Payment Assistance and loan products: GOLD and DREAM (Oklahoma Housing Finance Agency) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- DPA Program Requirements (Oklahoma Housing Finance Agency) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Down Payment and Closing Cost Assistance FAQ (Oklahoma Housing Finance Agency) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Interest Rates (Oklahoma Housing Finance Agency, effective October 13, 2026) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- 2025 Maximum Household Income Limits, GOLD Government, Exhibits H-1A, H-2A, H-3 (OHFA, released 09/01/2025) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Dream Income Limits, Government, Exhibit H-1C (OHFA, released 09/01/2025) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Homebuyer Assistance (City of Oklahoma City) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- City Down Payment Assistance (DPA) Program Guidelines, 2025 (City of Oklahoma City) (consulted October 13, 2026)