In short
The cap on a rental bond, the deadline to lodge it and the authority that holds it, in each Australian state and territory, from official sources. Compared across 8 states and territories.
State by state
New South Wales
In New South Wales, the rental bond is capped at 4 weeks' rent, with no separate pet bond, and is held by NSW Fair Trading.
Victoria
In Victoria, the bond is generally capped at one month's rent, or more if rent exceeds $900 a week. The rental provider must lodge it with the RTBA within 14 days, not counting public holidays.
Queensland
In Queensland, the bond is capped at 4 weeks' rent for agreements signed on or after 30 September 2024, and must be lodged with the RTA within 10 days.
Western Australia
In Western Australia, the bond is capped at 4 weeks' rent where rent is $1,200 a week or less, and must be lodged with Bonds Administration within 14 days. A pet bond of up to $350 is allowed.
South Australia
In South Australia, the bond cap is 4 weeks' rent where rent is $800 a week or less and 6 weeks above that. The landlord must lodge within 2 weeks and a registered agent within 4 weeks.
Tasmania
In Tasmania, a landlord must not require a deposit above 4 weeks' rent. It is paid to the Rental Deposit Authority, or to a property agent who must pass it on within 10 working days.
Australian Capital Territory
In the ACT, a bond cannot exceed 4 weeks' rent and is lodged with the Office of Rental Bonds. The lessor's deadline is the later of 2 weeks and the start of the tenancy, or 4 weeks for an agent.
Northern Territory
In the Northern Territory, the bond cannot exceed 4 weeks' rent, worked out on the lowest weekly rent. On the Act as at 1 August 2025 the landlord holds it in a trust account.
The table
| State or territory | Cap | Lodge within | Held by |
|---|---|---|---|
| New South Wales | 4 weeks' rent | — | NSW Fair Trading |
| Victoria | one month's rent (more if rent is over $900 a week, or VCAT sets it) | 14 days (not counting public holidays) | Residential Tenancies Bond Authority (RTBA) |
| Queensland | 4 weeks' rent | 10 days | Residential Tenancies Authority (RTA) |
| Western Australia | 4 weeks' rent (rent up to $1,200 a week) | 14 days | Bonds Administration |
| South Australia | 4 weeks' rent if rent is $800 a week or less; 6 weeks above | 2 weeks (landlord); 4 weeks (registered agent) | Commissioner, via Consumer and Business Services |
| Tasmania | 4 weeks' rent | 10 working days (agent) | Rental Deposit Authority |
| Australian Capital Territory | 4 weeks' rent | later of 2 weeks and the tenancy start (lessor); later of 4 weeks and the tenancy start (agent) | Office of Rental Bonds |
| Northern Territory | 4 weeks' rent | — | Landlord, in trust (Act as at 1 August 2025) |
“—” means the guide does not state it. Download the data: rental-bonds.json (CC BY 4.0, cite Payotte with a link).
- New South Wales: Lodgement deadline not stated on the pages the guide read.
- Northern Territory: No lodgement deadline: the landlord holds the bond.
Other tables by state
Sources
- New South Wales: Costs at the start of a residential tenancy (NSW Government)
- New South Wales: Lodge a residential rental bond, landlords and agents (Service NSW)
- Victoria: Bond amounts and payments (Consumer Affairs Victoria)
- Victoria: Lodging the bond with the RTBA (Consumer Affairs Victoria)
- Queensland: Rental bond (Residential Tenancies Authority, Queensland)
- Queensland: Rental bonds fact sheet (Residential Tenancies Authority, Queensland)
- Western Australia: Rental bonds (Consumer Protection WA)
- Western Australia: Lodging a bond (Consumer Protection WA)
- South Australia: Residential Tenancies, chapter 23 (South Australia Law Handbook)
- Tasmania: Residential Tenancy Act 1997 (Tasmanian legislation)
- Australian Capital Territory: Residential Tenancies Act 1997, republication 84 effective 26 November 2025 (ACT legislation)
- Northern Territory: Residential Tenancies Act 1999, as in force at 1 August 2025 (NT legislation)