In short
The Ohio Housing Finance Agency (OHFA) offers down payment assistance worth 3% of the purchase price on conventional loans and 3.5% on FHA, VA and USDA loans, according to OHFA. In Franklin County, where Columbus is, OHFA’s income limit is $133,800 for a household of one or two in a target area and $111,500 elsewhere, as of July 1, 2026. The City of Columbus runs its own down payment program.
What OHFA offers
OHFA is the state’s housing finance agency. It does not lend directly: its loans come from participating lenders, and you apply through one of them. OHFA offers 30-year fixed-rate conventional, FHA, VA and USDA-RD loans, and buyers can add one or more options on top.
| Program | What it gives | Main conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Down Payment Assistance | 3% (conventional) or 3.5% (FHA, VA, USDA) of the price, for the down payment, closing costs or other pre-closing expenses | Forgiven after seven years; if you sell sooner, you repay all of it |
| Grants for Grads | Discounted interest rate plus the same 3% / 3.5% assistance | Graduated within the last 18 months; forgiven after five years if you stay in Ohio, and you may repay some or all if you leave sooner |
| Ohio Heroes | Discounted interest rate; assistance can be included | Veterans and military members, police, firefighters, EMTs and paramedics, physicians and nurses, and K-12 teachers, administrators and counselors |
| Mortgage Tax Credit | A federal tax credit on part of the mortgage interest, up to $2,000 a year | Needs a tax liability; 20% of interest in a target area and 15% elsewhere on the Basic option; 40% on the Plus option |
| Next Home | 30-year fixed-rate loans for buyers who are not first-time buyers | Same income and price limits |
Source: Ohio Housing Finance Agency program pages, read October 13, 2026.
OHFA’s Mortgage Tax Credit page said that, as of September 3, 2026, it was not accepting applications and expected the program to be available again on October 1, 2026. Ask a lender whether it is open before you plan around it.
A worked example
On a $279,900 purchase, a figure equal to the 2024 Census median value for the city of Columbus (see our page on Ohio home prices), the OHFA assistance would be about $8,400 with a conventional loan (3%) or about $9,800 with a government loan (3.5%). This is an illustration of the percentages, not an offer: your lender confirms the amount.
Who qualifies
OHFA says you may qualify for a first-time homebuyer program if you meet one of three criteria: no ownership interest in your primary residence in the last three years, honorably discharged veteran, or a home in a target area. For the down payment assistance, OHFA also requires:
- Income and purchase price within the limits for your county.
- A credit score of 640 or higher for conventional, USDA and VA loans, or 650 or higher for FHA loans.
- Debt-to-income ratios that fit your loan type.
- Completion of free homebuyer education with a HUD-approved counseling agency in Ohio. OHFA says this counts as complete only after you submit your loan application.
Income and price limits in Franklin County
OHFA publishes limits by county, effective July 1, 2026. Limits are higher in target areas, which you can look up on OHFA’s target area search.
| Franklin County | Target area | Non-target area |
|---|---|---|
| Income limit, 1 to 2 people | $133,800 | $111,500 |
| Income limit, 3 or more people | $156,100 | $128,225 |
| Maximum price, one-family home | $755,913 | $618,475 |
Source: OHFA, Income and Purchase Price Limits (income limits effective July 1, 2026; price limits as of July 2026). The price limit applies to the Columbus area counties.
Programs in Columbus and Franklin County
- City of Columbus. The city’s Department of Development, Division of Housing, runs the American Dream Downpayment Initiative (ADDI), which gives down payment and closing cost assistance to qualified buyers. The city’s lender agreement says households at or below 80% of area median income are eligible for the federally funded assistance, and those at or below 120% for the city-funded assistance. A participating lender applies on your behalf. The document we read does not state the loan amount, so ask the Division of Housing for the current amount and funding status.
- Franklin County. The county’s Down Payment Assistance program helps income-eligible first-time buyers with down payments and closing costs for a home in Franklin County outside the Columbus city limits. The county page lists Homeport as the contact (614-221-8889) and does not state an amount.
- Ohio Homebuyer Plus. The Ohio Treasurer’s savings accounts pay an enhanced interest rate (2.96% as of our reading) when used for a down payment or closing costs on an Ohio home. Accounts opened on or after April 1, 2025 need a minimum balance of $500, cap at $100,000, and must be used within five years. Contributions may be deductible from the contributor’s Ohio income tax.
How to apply
Choose an OHFA-approved lender (OHFA’s phone line is 888-362-6432), ask which programs your income and county qualify for, and complete the homebuyer education. Closing costs still apply on top of any assistance: see closing costs in Ohio and our overview of how buying a home works. For the city itself, see buying a home in Columbus. Lenders can explain the options for FHA loans and VA loans.
Frequently asked questions
How much down payment assistance does Ohio offer?
OHFA’s down payment assistance is 3% of the purchase price with a conventional loan and 3.5% with an FHA, VA or USDA loan. It can go toward the down payment, closing costs or other pre-closing expenses.
Do I have to repay the OHFA assistance?
Not if you stay. OHFA says the assistance is forgiven after seven years. If you sell within seven years, you must repay all of it.
What credit score do I need for OHFA programs?
OHFA lists 640 or higher for conventional, USDA and VA loans and 650 or higher for FHA loans. The Mortgage Tax Credit Basic option has no credit score requirement.
Can I use OHFA if I have owned a home before?
Yes, through Next Home, which offers 30-year fixed-rate loans to buyers who are not first-time buyers. You can pair it with OHFA’s down payment assistance, and the home must be your primary residence.
Is there help specifically for buyers in Columbus?
Yes. The City of Columbus offers ADDI down payment assistance through participating lenders, and Franklin County’s program covers homes outside the city limits. Contact the Division of Housing or Homeport for current amounts.
Compare with the other states: First-time home buyer programs by state.
More Ohio guides
- Closing costs in Ohio: what buyers and sellers pay
- Ohio real estate transfer tax: rate, who pays, exemptions
- How Ohio property tax works and what the homestead saves
- Seller disclosure requirements in Ohio: the state form
- Do you need a real estate attorney to close in Ohio?
- Foreclosure process in Ohio: steps, timeline and your rights
- Home prices in Ohio and Columbus: median value and trend
- How to verify a real estate license in Ohio
Sources
- OHFA Down Payment Assistance (Ohio Housing Finance Agency) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- OHFA Homebuyer Program (Ohio Housing Finance Agency) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Income and Purchase Price Limits for Homeownership Products, effective July 1, 2026 (Ohio Housing Finance Agency) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Mortgage Tax Credit (Ohio Housing Finance Agency) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Grants for Grads (Ohio Housing Finance Agency) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Ohio Heroes (Ohio Housing Finance Agency) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Next Home (Ohio Housing Finance Agency) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Ohio Homebuyer Plus (Ohio Treasurer of State) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- American Dream Downpayment Initiative, Lender Participation Agreement (City of Columbus, Department of Development) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Economic Development Services, Down Payment Assistance (Franklin County, Ohio) (consulted October 13, 2026)