In short
No official source gives a “typical” Alabama closing-cost percentage, so add the costs line by line. The state fixes two taxes: a deed tax of $0.50 per $500 of price (Code of Alabama § 40-22-1) and a mortgage tax of $0.15 per $100 borrowed (§ 40-22-2). On a $250,000 sale with a $200,000 loan, those two taxes are $250 and $300.
Why there is no single “typical” total
Some costs are set by government: the deed and mortgage taxes, and county recording fees. Others are set by private companies: lender charges, title insurance premiums, inspections, surveys and brokerage compensation. Your total depends mostly on your loan, your contract and your closing date.
Two federal forms show the variable pieces. The lender must give you a Loan Estimate within three business days of receiving your application, and must give you the Closing Disclosure at least three business days before closing (Consumer Financial Protection Bureau). For a walk-through of each line, see closing costs explained.
Line by line
Deed tax. $0.50 for each $500 or fraction of the price (§ 40-22-1). The statute does not say who pays, so the contract decides. Details are on our Alabama transfer tax page.
Mortgage tax. $0.15 for each $100 or fraction of the initial debt (§ 40-22-2). It is paid when the mortgage is recorded, and your Closing Disclosure shows the amount.
Recording fees. The Probate Court of Jefferson County charges $16 for the first page and $3 for each additional page, per its schedule effective June 1, 2012, still posted in October 2026. A statute adds an $11 indexing and filing fee on each instrument recorded in Jefferson County (§ 45-37-84.43). The court’s schedule does not mention the $11 fee, so confirm it with the court.
Title insurance. Alabama does not publish one state premium chart. Under § 27-25-6, each title insurer files its own schedule of rates with the insurance commissioner and may charge only its filed rates. The statute bars rebates and forbids a rate filing that allows negotiation or bidding of the premium. Ask the title company for the filed rate for your price. No official source read for this article gives a typical premium.
Lender charges. Origination, appraisal, credit report and underwriting fees are set by the lender and its vendors. Compare them across lenders on the standard Loan Estimate. See home appraisal cost.
Inspection, survey, attorney. These fees are set by each provider. See home inspection cost, land survey cost and real estate attorneys in Alabama.
Prepaids and prorations. Property taxes become due on October 1 and are delinquent after December 31 (Alabama Department of Revenue). How it is prorated at closing is set by the contract. If your lender requires a tax and insurance reserve, it funds your escrow account. See Alabama property tax.
Who pays what in Alabama
| Cost | Who pays by law |
|---|---|
| Deed tax | Not stated in § 40-22-1; set by contract |
| Mortgage tax | Not stated in § 40-22-2; shown on the Closing Disclosure |
| Recording fees | Not stated in the court schedule; set by contract |
| Title insurance | Filed rates fixed by § 27-25-6; who pays is set by contract |
| Lender charges | Set by the lender; the borrower is billed |
| Brokerage compensation | Negotiable; see real estate commission |
Worked example in Birmingham
This is an example, not a quote. It assumes a $250,000 home in Jefferson County, a $200,000 loan, a 3-page deed and a 15-page mortgage (page counts assumed). Only the lines fixed by law are calculated.
| Line | Rule | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Deed tax | 500 units × $0.50 | $250.00 |
| Mortgage tax | 2,000 units × $0.15 | $300.00 |
| Recording the deed | $16 + $3 × 2, plus $11 indexing | $33.00 |
| Recording the mortgage | $16 + $3 × 14, plus $11 indexing | $69.00 |
| Subtotal of fixed lines | $652.00 | |
| Title premium, lender charges, inspection, survey, prorations | Set by each provider | See your Loan Estimate and title quote |
The deed and mortgage taxes alone come to $550. For the Birmingham market, see the Birmingham guide.
Frequently asked questions
How much are closing costs in Alabama?
No official source gives a typical percentage. The fixed pieces are the deed tax ($0.50 per $500), the mortgage tax ($0.15 per $100) and recording fees. Lender and title charges vary, so rely on your Loan Estimate.
Who pays the deed tax in Alabama?
The statute does not say. The sales contract and closing statement assign it.
Can I shop for title insurance in Alabama?
Premiums must follow the insurer’s filed rates, and the statute forbids bidding the rate (§ 27-25-6). You can still compare insurers and the other fees on the closing statement.
When will I know my exact closing costs?
You receive a Loan Estimate within three business days of applying, and the Closing Disclosure at least three business days before closing (CFPB).
Does Birmingham charge its own transfer tax?
The Jefferson County Probate Court’s schedule lists only the state deed and mortgage tax rates and shows no city or county transfer tax.
Compare with the other states: Closing costs by state.
More Alabama guides
- Alabama deed tax and mortgage tax: rates and who pays
- Alabama property tax: how it works and the homestead exemption
- Seller disclosure in Alabama: what a seller must tell
- Do you need a real estate attorney to close in Alabama?
- Foreclosure process in Alabama: steps, timeline, redemption
- Home prices in Alabama and Birmingham: median value, trend
- First-time home buyer programs in Alabama and Birmingham
- How to verify a real estate license in Alabama
- Natural hazards and home insurance in Alabama
Sources
- Code of Alabama § 40-22-1, deed tax (Alabama Legislature) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Code of Alabama § 40-22-2, mortgage tax (Alabama Legislature) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Code of Alabama § 45-37-84.43, Jefferson County indexing and filing fee (Alabama Legislature) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Code of Alabama § 27-25-6, title insurers file rates (Alabama Legislature) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- Recording Costs, effective 6/1/2012 (Probate Court of Jefferson County) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- What is a Loan Estimate? (Consumer Financial Protection Bureau) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- What is a Closing Disclosure? (Consumer Financial Protection Bureau) (consulted October 13, 2026)
- 7% Cap Information, HB73 (Act 2024-344), FAQ on due dates (Alabama Department of Revenue) (consulted October 13, 2026)