In short
Article 290 of the federal registry law (Lei 6.015/1973) reduces by 50% the emolumentos (notary and registry fees) for acts tied to the first residential purchase financed by the Sistema Financeiro da Habitação (SFH). Fees are set by each state table, which repeats the reduction only if it says so: the tables read for Rio de Janeiro and several other states do, while the Distrito Federal table shows no such reduction. The text read does not cover a cash purchase.
What the federal text says
Article 290, caput, in the wording of Lei 6.941/1981, reads in substance: “the fees due for the acts related to the first real estate acquisition for residential purposes, financed by the Housing Financial System, shall be reduced by 50%”. Further paragraphs deal with other programmes:
- Housing cooperatives (paragraph 1): registration and annotation count as a single act for fee purposes, with a charge capped at 40% of the Maior Valor de Referência (an old reference value).
- Social-interest programmes by public housing companies (paragraph 2): caps expressed as a percentage of the same reference, by built area up to 80 m2.
- Self-help (mutirão) programmes for low-income families (paragraph 4, added by Lei 9.934/1999): fees reduced to 20% of the normal table, for a property up to 69 m2 built on land up to 250 m2.
Article 290-A separately lets some first registrations in social land regularisation proceed without payment of fees.
What “SFH” means for the buyer
The SFH is the framework of regulated housing loans. Its value ceiling is set by the National Monetary Council: since 10 October 2025, Resolution CMN 5.255/2025 sets the maximum appraised value of a financed property at R$ 2,250,000. The differences between the SFH and the SFI (real estate finance system), and which loans are in each, are in SFH vs SFI. A loan outside the SFH, or a cash purchase, falls outside the wording of article 290.
How the state tables apply it
Notary and registry fees are set by state law and tables published by each state’s court. Payotte’s reading of the 2026 tables (see notary and registry fees) shows the following. “Not stated” means the note on the table read did not mention the reduction; the table itself should be consulted.
| State | What the table read says |
|---|---|
| Rio de Janeiro | Reduction of 50% for the first residential purchase financed by the SFH, and no fund surcharges (Portaria CGJ 516/2026, read in full) |
| São Paulo | 50% reduction on the financed part for financed acquisitions (SFH), registry table, note 1.8.1; the deed table was not available |
| Rio Grande do Sul | 50% reduction of the registration fee for a first residential purchase with SFH financing, if the fiscal value is under a municipal limit or R$ 5,865.20 |
| Bahia | The court table reduces the taxas tied to a first SFH-financed residential acquisition by 50% (read in full); how it combines with the fee scale should be checked on the table |
| Pernambuco | 50% for a first residential purchase with SFH financing (deed note 6; registry item V.1, on the financed part) |
| Ceará | 50%, citing article 290 (provision of the state judiciary, note 23.2) |
| Espírito Santo | 50% on the financed portion (Table 11, note 6) |
| Alagoas | 50% for the SFH first home (nominal values of the state law; official court table not read) |
| Mato Grosso do Sul | 50% for the first SFH residential purchase, citing art. 290; SFH, SFI and PMCMV deeds also reduced |
| Sergipe | 50% for the SFH first home; deeds for SFH or consortium-financed homes at 35% of the table |
| Maranhão | Registration fees reduced by 50% for the first SFH residential purchase (not for SFI loans) |
| Rondônia | 50% on the financed share, citing article 290 of Lei 6.015 |
| Minas Gerais | Reductions exist for financed deeds and the MCMV programme; no separate first-home registry reduction noted |
| Distrito Federal | No SFH or first-home reduction appears in the table |
| Paraná, Tocantins, Mato Grosso, Acre, Roraima | Not stated in the notes read |
| Goiás, Amazonas | No first-home SFH reduction noted; other reductions are listed (promissory contracts in Goiás, social housing in Amazonas) |
Only the states Payotte has read are listed; it does not cover every state. See fees by state for the states with published tables, and fees in the cities.
Points the tables themselves settle
- Which acts. The federal text speaks of “acts related to” the purchase. Pernambuco and Mato Grosso do Sul apply a reduction to both deed and registration, São Paulo’s registry table to the financing part, and Maranhão to registration fees.
- Financed part only. São Paulo, Espírito Santo, Pernambuco (registry) and Rondônia apply the 50% to the financed share of the price, not to the whole.
- Limits. Rio Grande do Sul conditions the reduction on the fiscal value being under a municipal limit or R$ 5,865.20.
- Fund surcharges. Rio de Janeiro’s table says the surcharges for public funds do not apply to the reduced acts.
- SFI loans. Maranhão’s table excludes them from the registry reduction. Sergipe sets deeds for SFH or consortium-financed homes at 35% of the table, and Mato Grosso do Sul also reduces SFH, SFI and PMCMV deeds.
Reading the reduction (calculation, not a quote)
If a state table gives a registration fee of R$ X for the whole price and applies article 290 to the whole act, the fee is 0.5 times X. If it applies it only to the financed share f (a fraction of the price), the fee is X times (f times 0.5 plus (1 minus f)), as a simplification. The state table, not this formula, gives the actual figure; use the purchase costs calculator together with the table.
What it costs
The discount saves part of the registry and deed fees; the transfer tax (ITBI) is a separate municipal tax, and article 290 speaks only of emolumentos. For the other costs of buying see closing costs in Brazil, and for the financing side, mortgages in Brazil.
Which professional to consult
The notary and the registry office apply the table, so they are the ones to ask whether and on what base the reduction is applied. A lawyer registered with the OAB can review any refusal, and a mortgage lender can confirm whether the loan is within the SFH. The reader checks professional registrations on official registers.
Frequently asked questions
Does the discount apply if I pay in cash?
Not under the wording of article 290, which refers to a purchase financed by the SFH.
Is it the same in every state?
No. Fees are set by each state, and a table reproduces the reduction only where it says so.
Does the discount reduce the ITBI?
No. Article 290 speaks of notary and registry fees (emolumentos); ITBI is a municipal tax.
Does it apply to a foreigner?
The text does not mention nationality; it depends on the purchase being a first, SFH-financed, residential acquisition.
What is the SFH value ceiling?
R$ 2,250,000 of appraised value since 10 October 2025 (Resolution CMN 5.255/2025).
More guides on buying
- Buying a home in Brazil step by step: the process
- Closing costs when buying a home in Brazil
- Due diligence in Brazil: which certificates to collect
- Escritura pública: the notarial deed in a Brazilian sale
- ITBI in Brazil: the property transfer tax by city
- ITBI tax base: price, valor venal and reference value
- Notary and registry fees in Brazil, state by state
- Purchase agreement and deposit (sinal, arras) in Brazil
- Registering a property purchase at the Brazilian registry
- Spousal consent (outorga conjugal) when buying in Brazil
- The matrícula: the Brazilian property record explained
Sources
- Lei 6.015/1973, Lei de Registros Públicos, art. 290 (consolidated text, Câmara dos Deputados) (consulted 15 October 2026)
- Portaria CGJ-RJ 516/2026, tabelas de emolumentos extrajudiciais (TJRJ) (consulted 15 October 2026)
- Tabela de custas e emolumentos 2026 (TJBA) (consulted 15 October 2026)
- Resolução CMN 5.255/2025, limits of the SFH (Banco Central do Brasil) (consulted 15 October 2026)