Guide · Renting

Landlord registration and licensing in the UK: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland

Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland already require landlords to register; England's national register opens on 15 December 2026, region by region, with all letting landlords registered by 14 November 2027.

In short

Private landlords must register in Scotland (every 3 years, fine up to £50,000 for letting unregistered), Wales (Rent Smart Wales, every 5 years, plus a licence if you let or manage yourself) and Northern Ireland (every 3 years, £70 online). England has had no general landlord register: a national registration service, the first step of the Renters’ Rights Act database, launches on 15 December 2026 in the West Midlands and reaches other areas over 12 months; every landlord actively letting must be registered by 14 November 2027. Separately, a large HMO in England or Wales always needs a council licence.

The four systems side by side

EnglandScotlandWalesNorthern Ireland
RegisterNational registration service (Renters’ Rights Act)Scottish Landlord Register, run for the 32 councilsRent Smart WalesLandlord Registration Scheme
In forceFrom 15 December 2026, region by regionYesSince 23 November 2015Yes
RenewalNot yet publishedEvery 3 yearsEvery 5 yearsEvery 3 years
FeeNot yet publishedCharged on application; amount not shown on the pages Payotte read£60 online (new), £48 renewal£70 online, £80 paper; one fee for all properties
Licence for self-managing landlordsNo general licence (HMO and council schemes apart)No (separate short-term let licence)Yes, with trainingNo (HMO registration apart)
Penalty stated”Risks a fine”Up to £50,000 and a letting ban of up to 5 years on convictionFixed penalties of £150 or £250, prosecution, rent repayment and rent stopping ordersNot stated on the nidirect page

England: the new registration service

GOV.UK’s announcement of 9 September 2026 gives the timetable:

  • The register your rental property service launches on 15 December 2026, starting in the West Midlands, then other areas over 12 months.
  • When an area is called forward, landlords there have 3 months to sign up. All landlords actively letting must be registered by 14 November 2027.
  • It will be a legal requirement, and not registering risks a fine. GOV.UK gives no amount.
  • At first it covers properties under let, or that become occupied during rollout. Later legislation will require empty properties to be registered before marketing, and adverts to carry a registration number.
  • Tenants will later be able to check whether a landlord has registered.

The same announcement says challenges to rent increases in England will move to HMRC’s Valuation Office in future; until then they still go to the First-tier Tribunal. For the tenancy rules in force since 1 May 2026, see renting in England.

HMO licences (England and Wales). GOV.UK says a licence is mandatory for a large HMO: rented to 5 or more people forming more than one household, sharing toilet, bathroom or kitchen facilities, with at least one tenant paying rent. Smaller HMOs may need one depending on the area. A licence lasts up to 5 years, one per HMO, with a fee set by the council; renting an unlicensed HMO can mean an unlimited fine.

The rest of the Act’s timetable is in Renters’ Rights Act 2025.

Scotland

mygov.scot: anyone renting out property must register, unless exempt, and co-owners must register too. Registration is renewed every 3 years. Letting without registration is a criminal offence; the Scottish Landlord Register says the penalty on conviction is up to £50,000 and a ban on letting of up to 5 years.

Every advert must show your registration number, or “landlord registration pending”, and the property’s EPC rating.

Exemptions listed by mygov.scot: resident landlords, tenants who are family members, holiday lets (which may need a short-term let licence), properties managed by a religious order, agricultural or crofting tenancies, and care services regulated by the Care Inspectorate. Short-term lets have needed a separate council licence since 1 October 2022. For the tenancy itself, see the private residential tenancy.

Wales: registration and licensing

Rent Smart Wales separates two duties:

  1. Registration for every landlord of a property let on an occupation contract. The immediate landlord registers personally (an agent cannot, except under power of attorney or as executor). Joint owners share one registration, with a lead landlord.
  2. A licence if you do letting or management tasks yourself. If you do not, you must appoint a licensed agent.
Rent Smart Wales feeOnlinePaper
New registration£60£102
Renewal (within 84 days before expiry)£48£87
Landlord licence£254£327
Landlord licence, renewed 42 days or more early£230£302

A licence needs approved training first: for landlords, about 5 hours online (£35) or 6.5 hours in a classroom (£100). Decisions can take up to 8 weeks, and both registration and licence last 5 years.

If you do not comply: fixed penalties of £150 or £250, prosecution, rent repayment orders and rent stopping orders. Rent Smart Wales adds that a landlord cannot serve a valid notice seeking possession unless the property is registered and the landlord is licensed or uses a licensed agent. See Renting Homes Wales.

Exempt: owner occupiers with lodgers who share amenities, agricultural agreements, commercial lets, accommodation on a licence (such as university-owned property), registered social landlords, holiday lets, non-permanent structures, and property outside Wales.

Northern Ireland

nidirect: all landlords letting under a private tenancy must register. The fee is £70 online or £80 on paper, and one fee covers all the properties you rent out. The certificate lasts 3 years, and the scheme writes 8 weeks before it expires. A house in multiple occupation already registered under the HMO scheme does not pay a separate fee. The nidirect page does not state a penalty. See renting in Northern Ireland.

Before buying to let

  1. Budget the registration (and, in Wales, licence and training) costs for the nation where the property is.
  2. Check whether the home would be an HMO, or sits in a council licensing area.
  3. Ask your lender for consent to let: GOV.UK says you must get permission if the property has a mortgage.
  4. Work out the tax: see buy-to-let tax and mortgage interest.

Which professional to consult

A letting agent who handles lettings must itself be licensed in Wales, and GOV.UK says letting agents in England and Wales must belong to a redress scheme; see the estate agent page. A mortgage adviser handles buy-to-let finance and consent to let.

Frequently asked questions

Do landlords in England have to register?

Yes, once the national registration service reaches their area: it launches on 15 December 2026 in the West Midlands, and every landlord actively letting must be registered by 14 November 2027.

How much does landlord registration cost in Wales?

£60 online for a new Rent Smart Wales registration, £48 to renew. A landlord licence costs £254 online.

What is the fine for an unregistered landlord in Scotland?

Up to £50,000 on conviction, and a ban on letting of up to 5 years, according to the Scottish Landlord Register.

How long does registration last?

3 years in Scotland and Northern Ireland, 5 years in Wales. England’s renewal rules are not yet published.

Do I need a licence for an HMO?

In England and Wales, always for a large HMO of 5 or more people from more than one household sharing facilities. Councils can require licences for smaller ones too.

General information drawn from the official sources cited and dated on this page. It is not legal, tax or financial advice: for your own situation, ask a licensed professional.

More guides on renting

Sources

All guides · Payotte UK